Feed on
Posts

News China Mieville becomes first 3-time Arthur C Clarke winner: http://io9.com/5526775/china-mieville-becomes-the-first-three+time-arthur-c-clarke-award-winner

Hugo Voting pack now available for download by Aussiecon4 members: http://www.aussiecon4.org.au/index.php?page=66

Matthew Cheney has an intriguing column, "Patriarchy Studies," up at Strange Horizons: http://www.strangehorizons.com/2010/20100426/cheney-c.shtml

Asimov's is (finally) accepting online submissions: http://www.sfsignal.com/archives/2010/04/exclusive-interview-sheila-williams

Google to opening an online bookstore by July: http://www.smh.com.au/technology/technology-news/google-to-open-bookstore-in-july-20100505-u7x2.html

Diana Gabaldon attacks fanfiction [posts have been removed by the author but have been archived by others: eg http://kate-nepveu.livejournal.com/483239.html] Charlie Stross weighs in: http://www.antipope.org/charlie/blog-static/2010/05/faq-fanfic.html Kate Nepveu on the legalities of fanfic: http://kate-nepveu.livejournal.com/481047.html A post from Sarah Rees Brennan, novelist & former fanfic writer: http://sarahtales.livejournal.com/165135.html Nick Mamatas responds to George RR Martin's claims that Lovecraftian fanfic sent Lovecraft to an early grave: http://nihilistic-kid.livejournal.com/1470621.html Catherynne Valente being sensible: http://yuki-onna.livejournal.com/582169.html

New editor at Escape Pod, Mur Lafferty: http://murverse.com/2010/05/07/new-escape-pod-editor-announced/

Angry Robot sold to Osprey Publishing: http://angryrobotbooks.com/?p=4086

Storm in a teacup over Neil Gaiman's appearance fee: http://journal.neilgaiman.com/2010/05/political-football-in-teacup.html

"Men Don't Read," by Jason Pinter, in the Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/jason-pinter/why-men-dont-read-how-pub_b_549491.html.  Response: http://www.salon.com/books/laura_miller/2010/05/04/men_don_t_read/index.html 

What SF should be in every fan's library: http://www.sfsignal.com/archives/2010/05/mind-meld-what-science-fiction-books-should-be-in-every-fans-library-1/ If we remove Ursula leGuin as the outlier, none of the men here mention women in their lists.

What have we been reading? Alex: Sean Williams, Orphans of Earth and Heirs of Earth; Octavia Butler, Imago; Sean Williams, The Resurrected Man Alisa: Borderline by Leanne Frahm Listening to: Sofanauts, Memories of the FutureCast, The Outland Institute (where I discovered I WANT this http://www.palgrave.com/products/Title.aspx?PID=410115), Radio Free Burrito Tansy: Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey, Soulless by Gail Carriger Listening to: Shada (Big Finish)

Pet Subject: book reviews Do we read them, and why? Do we write them, and why?  What's the use for publishers? What's the use for authors? What's the use for readers?

Mary Beard's on women writing reviews (there's not that many in prominent publications etc): http://timesonline.typepad.com/dons_life/2010/04/can-women-write-reviews.html (also the fact that lots of UK and US broadsheets have stopped literary reviews completely) An article that has outraged female book bloggers this week: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sarah-mccarry/faking-nice-in-the-blogos_b_551217.html

This ties into last episode's comments about reader expectations; getting books to the right audience, or explaining why you might want to read a particular book.

Feedback, thoughts, etc: galacticsuburbia@gmail.com

00:0000:00
Share | Download(Loading)